HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Wounded Wings and Candid Captures

Woo hoo, Pens win!  Went to the Pens-Red Wings game last night as we emerged victorious 4-1.  Penalty shot goals, more awesome penalty killing…all around a great game.  Although let’s be honest: it’s hard to say this was a REAL rematch when they had 7 guys on the injured list, including Datsyuk and Howard.  Doesn’t matter in the win column, if they had the Pittsburgh Pirates playing for them, still counts as win. 

 It’s really not right to bash the Pirates I guess.  I live here though, have watched this 18 year collapse, so I think I’m allowed…I mean 18 straight years of sub .500 ball?  Are you kidding me?  Oh wait, that’s right.  They’re rebuilding.  Rebuilding what?  The Pyramids?  Ancient Rome?  A full size Empire State Building with toothpicks?  The Pens rebuilt in 4 years.

 Speaking of the Pens, the shot above is from the game last night.  It’s a shot of Craig Adams taking a shot in warm ups.  In case you ask, no, those are not my seats, I just sneak down there for practice.  He’s one of my favorite players, vital to the #1 ranked penalty kill the league.  Not the most well known, but we never would have won a Cup without him.

 

On to today’s shot (finally).  We’re heading back to New York!  This is another one that I took from the Brooklyn Bridge on the last day that we were in New York, Sunday.  As you can imagine, there are plenty of other people trying to get pictures at the same time.  I thought that I would try to get a shot of one of these photographers.  This guy was pretty serious, and he never took his face away from the camera.  Took a ton of pictures, never looked at the viewfinder.  Not sure what he was shooting, but he had no idea we were even there!  Rattled off 5 handheld exposures, and away we went!

I’m liking this blogging everyday type thing…I’ll think I’ll keep up with it!  No weekends (well, maybe Sunday, depending on how my Saturday night was), but I think I can do everyday!

Until tomorrow!

4 responses

  1. Tom Leparskas

    Thanks for going easy on my wounded Wings.

    TL

    January 19, 2011 at 10:14 am

  2. No problem Tom. The Red Wings are one of the few opponents who are considered our rivals that I don’t vehemently despise. Flyers, Caps, Canadiens, Senators…extremely strong dislike for…Wings…I’m actually a hit of a fan. Zetterberg and Datsyuk are the second best 1-2 in the league…Howard’s solid…Lidstrom and Franzen class acts. Thanks for stopping by!

    January 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

  3. I noticed your hockey photo. Great job. I’m assuming you shot through the glass. Great job. How’d you get rid of the blueish tint from the glass?
    Also, how’d you get such a great white balance? I shoot a lot of hockey and this is always a challenge for me, and I’ve done everything from custom white balance to adjusting the color temperature, but am never quite satisfied with the color. To make matters worse, I shoot from different areas of the arena during the games, and so the white balance is different each time.

    January 20, 2011 at 7:13 am

    • Hi Les, thanks for stopping by, good to see you!

      I did shoot through the glass, and for this one I used a D700 with a 50mm 1.4 prime, since I don’t have a press pass and can’t take the 70-200 2.8. I shot this one in JPEG and just edited the tones in CS5 when I got home. I was shooting in RAW, but that took up so much room on the card and I wasn’t doing much with this shots, so I shoot a high res JPEG. I shoot auto WB too for the same reason you stated (WB seems to change); I’ve tried (like you) a bunch of different WB settings, but find it’s easiest for me to shoot Auto and adjust in PS afterwards.

      Sorry I couldn’t be much help! I can post the original when I get home so you can see what I actually shot…WB wasn’t bad, just overall a bit grey. No blue tint though from the glass.

      Dave

      January 20, 2011 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

