HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Fast food at its finest

Like I said a few days ago, it’s time to head back to New York!  I haven’t posted some of my better shots from our trip on the blog yet, but don’t worry, I’ll put together a little gallery of our trip.  In the meantime (in between times) you can check out the whole set on flickr or the new website.  (My apologies for the “Welcome to Atlanta” by Ludacris reference.  Anytime I say/hear/read “In the meantime” I can’t help but bust into song).

Have I mentioned yet that I really like this new theme?  I was going crazy trying to figure out how to post bigger pictures than just though little thumbnail ones you see below and on all my other posts, just browsing new themes and saw this one.  Liked the way it looked and went with it, not realizing how serendipitous it would turn out to be.  Ok, enough rambling, on to the shot.

This is one that I took on the Friday we were in New York.  I had gotten up early (7:00, which isn’t early for me, but early for vacation) and headed out to brave the cold and NYC morning commute.  We were staying in Times Square, so I was able to be in the thick of it right away.  Walked around for a few hours, saw Kevin Spacey, bought a coffee at McDonald’s (which before that times I had NEVER done) just to keep warm, swung by to pick up the wife at around 9:30, then it was off to enjoy our day.  We hit up the Plaza Hotel from Home Alone 2, Central Park, FAO Schwartz and Ray’s Pizza (awesomeness) before walking back along 5th Avenue, which is where I got this shot.  I did not buy anything from this particular vendor, however the pretzel guy outside our hotel sure was glad to see me…I think I bought 5 pretzels from him in the 4 days we were there.  They weren’t even that great, but for some reason, I just had to have them.  Weird, I know.

Technical stuff about the shot.  This is a 5 exposure handheld HDR, processed with HDR Efex for CS5 then applied some filters in Color Efex.  It was a little difficult to manage the sky, as I was metered on the stand itself, so the sky was fairly blown out.  Shooting in RAW I was able to edit the most  underexposed file (-2) to help recover some of the lost highlights.  I also took the 0 exposure compensation and masked in all the people.  Don’t you wish that people would understand you are taking a picture and just stay still?  That has always bothered me.  Anyways, after masking in the moving people and the portion of the sky, I added a Tonal Contrast Filter in Color Efex as well as a Pro Contrast Filter.  In CS5 I bumped up the Saturation (which I don’t normally do, but wanted to cart to pop), adjusted the shadows, applied a crop and last, but certainly not least, high pass filter, just to sharpen it up a tinnnnnnnnny bit more.  And viola!  Here it is!

One more day til Friday!

2 responses

  1. It looks fantastic, Dave! So superbly processed!
    ~ I had never thought about the word “meantime” before – thanks for that 🙂 It seems you had a blast in NY – that’s awesome!

    January 20, 2011 at 10:28 am

  2. This is an awesome shot bro! All your NY shots turned out very well! Also, your Pens action shot below, perfect!

    January 22, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

