HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

In the thick of it…

Back after a couple days off of posting over the weekend!  I guess for the city of Pittsburgh it was a great weekend, at least in regards to our professional sports teams.  I can only take joy in one of those wins and that is obviously the Penguins.  The Steelers (somehow) managed to win the AFC Championship game, even after they tried so desperately hard to lose it in the second half.  Of course, when you have that pathetic of a first half as the Jets did, you don’t really deserve to win.  Give Mark Sanchez some credit though.  He was able to bounce back and at least semi-make a game out of it.  It seems that every team I root for this postseason loses, but I’m gonna say it anyways…Let’s go Packers in the Super Bowl!

Today’s shot.  Well, yesterday’s shot, but I like it so I am going to post it today.  This is one of the last HDRs that I took while we were in New York on Sunday on our way back to our hotel.  I was actually surprised at how busy it was for a Sunday evening there.  I would have thought that most of the people (like us!) were getting ready to pack up and leave.  That being said, we were getting ready to leave and we still were out and about.  Don’t you love it when you think of the perfect example of something that just completely destroys the argument you just made?  Anyways, I wanted to get this shot of the West Side Story billboard as that is the musical we went to see and it was the first one I had ever been to, which is reasonably exciting.  It was a great shot and next time we are in New York we will definitely be going back (not to West Side Story, but some kind of show).

Technical time.  This particular HDR is a 5 exposure handheld one at ISO 500 and f4.  I went 16mm on this to make sure that I captured the whole scene, from the signs on the buildings to the guy taking a picture in front.  Put it through HDR Efex (which a “Bright Soft” HDR Method for those may ask) then over the Photoshop.  Decreased overall saturation then bumped up the red in the signs a bit.  Masked in pretty much the bottom ¼ of the scene with the 0 exposure compensation shot to get rid of the myriad of ghosts that had invaded this picture.  Added a Tonal Contrast Filter in Color Efex and last, but certainly not least, a high pass filter for a bit of sharpening, and there ya go!

Pretty excited about tonight by the way!  There is a Penguins autograph session at one of local malls that I signed up for.  This is the third one that I will be going to, and it’s always cool to meet some of the guys!

I hope that you all have a great week!

2 responses

  1. Dave, this is IT for me. I gotta have a print. Will you be including this image in your portfolio for sale?

    January 24, 2011 at 8:08 am

  2. Wow Bruce, I’m honored, thanks a lot! I definitely will be, don’t have the full resolution at work, will do it when I get home this evening!

    January 24, 2011 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

