HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Distorted Times

Well after a little over a month of posting shots from New York, I think that I am going to be wrapping them up pretty shortly.  Which makes me a bit sad, because I really enjoyed processing them, posting them, giving you all the back story behind the shot.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have literally over a thousand that I haven’t touched, but it terms of the cream of the crop, I think that’s it for now.  I’ll probably shuffle through the folder in a few weeks and find one that I didn’t process that I really like and post it.

I actually find that kind of weird.  So, you take a shot, whether you love it in the camera or not is always difficult to tell.  But then you get home, through it on your computer, and think, “Why did I take this shot?  I don’t even like it!”  Then, a few months later, you accidentally open up that folder instead of the one you meant to, see it, and love it.  Happens to me all time!  Well, not all the time, but it does happen.  For instance, I posted a whole bunch of shots from Punta Cana early in my flickr career.  Then, almost a year later, I ended up posting about twenty more, and they are some of my favorites.  I think that processing has something to do with it.  As better and cooler processing techniques and programs come out, it can make that “It’s okay” picture to “I need to print this out right now and hang it on my wall” picture.  But the whole processing vs. SOOC discussion is for another day.  Maybe tomorrow.  We’ll see.

As for today, we have another shot of Times Square.  I know, I know, I may have taken too many shots of this place.  But how could you not?  You have so much going on, so many different things to see, all in one place!  Restaurants, Broadway shows, a police station, a Walgreens, tourists, New Yorkers, cars, taxis, buses, street performers, musicians, the subway, clothing stores, an M&M store, I mean I go could on.  And that’s all in a two block stretch on one street!  I took this one on our last walk back through Times Square back to our hotel.  I knew that I hadn’t gotten a shot yet in portrait orientation of Times Square and I wanted to get that cool distorted look to the buildings.

If you were just thinking to yourself, “Dave, I’d like to know how you processed this shot”, then you are in luck my friend.  I started with five handheld images, shipped them to CS5 and ran them through HDR Efex (tutorial in the works, I promise).  Played around with the sliders until I got something I liked, then shipped it off to CS4, because for some reason Color Efex won’t work in CS5 for me.  Opened up the zero exposure compensation shot, tonemapped it and masked in all the moving people/car.  Then applied a Tonal Contrast Filter, Pro Contrast Filter and a Low Key Filter, adjust the curves, toned down the saturation, straightened it out a bit (it was reasonably crooked to begin with) and shared it with you all!  Enjoy!

Make sure to check back tomorrow for…I haven’t decided yet.  Guess you’ll just have to check back then!

3 responses

  1. What a cool shot! Beautiful HDR work. Great reading, too – and I look forward to your SOOC vs processed post 🙂

    January 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm

  2. Hiya Dani! Thanks for stopping by, I really appreciate the visit! I am working on that topic now too, so much to write about, haha

    January 26, 2011 at 1:15 pm

  3. Nice one Dave, liked how you enlarged the pics here, nice work!

    January 26, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

