HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

A different perspective

Back after a bit of break from the blogging world.  I hope that everyone had a great weekend, as I know I did!  Watched the Pens come back and win on Friday, celebrated the wife’s birthday and Saturday then watched the Steelers play a pathetic game and lose the Super Bowl Sunday.  I was probably one of only people in the city who was absolutely ecstatic over the Steeler loss.  We were at a good friend’s house for the game who is a die hard Steelers fan, and it was everything I could do to not be jumping up and down and screaming.  But, I have been harassed my entire life for being a Cowboys fan, so I thought I would just enjoy that moment in silence.  I couldn’t wait to get in the car to leave and start cheering!  All in all a good time.  I was a bit under the weather yesterday morning and was also pretty busy at work so I wasn’t able to post anything.  Don’t worry though.  No more months at a time between posts.  Like I’ve said before, I’m kind of digging this posting everyday!

Today will be more strictly about photography that my normal rantings and ravings about who knows what.  Part of it is the fact that I am still pretty busy at work and trying to play a bit of catch up today, and the other piece is because I am a day behind in my posts!  We’ll start with a shot that I posted yesterday but took a few weeks back on my way home from work.  It was during one of those really heavy, afternoon snowfalls that coincided perfectly with my drive home.  I take the same route home everyday, and I almost look forward to when it snows and I’m driving, because it gives me the chance to get shots like this.  I really liked how the end of the road just vanished into the snow and how you can see the snow actually coming down.  It almost has a cinematic feel to it.

The processing for this one was actually pretty easy.  It was a five handheld exposure HDR that I processed with HDR Efex.  I moved it over the CS5, desaturated it a bit (not that I needed to), added a bit more green to the street signs, threw on a quick S Curve, and there you have it.  I didn’t do a Tonal Contrast filter or noise reduction because frankly I don’t think it needed either one!

For my next shot (doesn’t that remind you of those cheesy magicians from TV?), we are heading back to New York.  I just can’t get enough of that city, I just find myself going back to my pictures again and again and I keep find more pictures I want to process.  This is one of those.  I took this on our last day there right after we got off the Chambers St. subway stop.  I’m not going to lie, it took me about five minutes to figure out what this building was, because at first I wasn’t sure what stop we got off.  I had to pull up Google maps and literally drive down the street in Street View to see which building it was, and finally I found that it is the Public Advocates Office of New York (just in case you were wondering).  All the angles and architecture made for a great photograph.

I spent a bit more time processing this one.  Similar to the last one, this is a five exposure handheld HDR put through the HDR Efex process.  However, since I used the HDR Method “Dark Soft” the sky was a bit darker than I liked and there was some noticeable haloing around the arches and pillars.  I brought in the -2 exposure (since I was metered on the building, the sky was very blown out in all the other exposures), tonemapped it, and then masked in almost the entire sky.  I then dodged the top of some of the pillars and adjusted the shadows.  Added both a Tonal Contrast filter and High Pass Sharpening filter to the overall shot, as well as decreased overall saturation.  Straightened the shot and presented it to you, in full HDR glory.

That’s all for today folks, make sure you check back tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

