HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

What legends are made of

Yeah, I know, I know, I missed a post yesterday.  We have been a bit busy at work lately, as we are moving to a new building, and we are currently the last ones in the old building, so there is a lot to get done.  Back on the wagon today.

Last night I had the pleasure of attending the Elton John concert at the CONSOL Energy Center in Pittsburgh.  Now, I am a huge classic rock fan, and while I do enjoy Elton’s music, he wouldn’t be in my top 10 of favorite musicians, but let me say this:  It was awesome.  I mean, he really rocked the stage, it was incredible to watch him play, overall an immensely entertaining show.  He kept the crowd engaged, standing up and acknowledging all four sides of the stage after every song and even took the time to sign autographs before his encore, probably about fifty or so people that he let come up and stand by the stage for his last few songs, which included Bennie and the Jets and Crocodile Rock, along with his encore of Your Song.  Shots from this concert were taken with a Canon S95.

Tried out the Tilt Shift function on this one

I did find the concert very enjoyable…except for the eight songs that he did with Leon Russell right in the middle of the show.  I know that Russell is a Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, but it just really seemed to detract from the energetic vibe of the rest of the show.  The songs were slow, very few people knew them, as they were from the collaborative new album between Elton and Russell.  Other than that, awesome show.

Back in August, on opening night of the CONSOL Energy Center, before any hockey game had been played, I was in attendance to see former Beatle Paul McCartney.  In regards to entertainment, Sir Paul most definitely put on the best show I have ever been to.  It also helped that I knew the majority of the songs played and could sing along (not that anyone would want to hear that), but being able to see a legend like McCartney, that is a once in a lifetime thing, at least at this point in his career.  For this concert I had my Canon S90.

Finally, last March we attended an Eric Clapton concert at the old Civic Arena.  I know that I just said McCartney put on the best show ever, but Clapton’s music was just mesmerizing.  When they showed his hands making that guitar sing like it wasn’t anything at all was truly something special.  Clapton is not the same kind of entertainer as Elton and Paul, but he put on one hell of a show and I would gladly go back to see him again.  Didn’t have a great camera with my this time though, so just iPhone shots for this one.

I am very fortunate that I was able to see three of the great rock/pop musicians of our time in my hometown.  I don’t go to many concerts, but when I do, I make it worthwhile.

Speaking of these Pittsburgh hockey arenas and to go along with the nighttime Pittsburgh skyline, here is a shot of both.  I took this a few weeks into the season form the upper parking lot above the Civic Arena and had to hold up a lot of traffic to do so.  People honking, yelling, screaming while I just threw up my hands and said, “It’s bracketing nine exposures at night, it takes a lot time, what do you want me to do?”  One way to shut people up is just to confuse them!

Tomorrow’s Friday.  Woo hoo.

7 responses

  1. scott

    Dave, by any chance do you have a photo of he girl (my daughter) who had her leg signed on stage by Sir Elton? I ended up with no clear photos.

    March 24, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    • Scott – My apologies, but I don’t! I looked last night, and I only have pictures of him when he started signing and at the end! Thanks for stopping by!

      March 25, 2011 at 7:59 am

      • scott

        Thanks for getting back to me, and certainly no need to apologize. I did find a video of OK quality, and it appears that she was on stage just after his last song, so very very end, right before he left the stage.

        Thanks for looking. I’m sure I’ll find one somewhere.

        March 25, 2011 at 11:38 am

  2. Dave, I agree about Leon Russel. It really changed the vibe of the show. There were a few people around me who were super into him but for the most part, people fled to the restroom/ concession area.

    GREAT photos!

    March 28, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    • Didn’t even know you were there Leanne! Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’ve been well!

      March 28, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  3. Hey Dave, nice series, looks like you had fun

    pray for warmth 🙂

    March 28, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    • Thanks Wiz, we had a blast!

      Will do man!

      March 28, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

