HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Solid or stripes?

I’ve never done this on my blog, but I found this quote for my flickr post and really like it, so I thought I would share.

“To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”
 ~Elliott Erwitt

Pool is one thing that I was just never really good at, no matter how much I played or practiced.  Granted we didn’t have a pool table growing up, but a friend of mine did, so it’s not like I never played.  I am however fascinated by trick pool shots, people who can make the cue ball curve all the way around the table, pocketing all the balls en route, as this is something that I would like to be able to do one day.  I think that I literally have just decided to buy a pool table for our next house and got really excited.

I know that that had nothing to do with photography, but pool came to mind instantly when I saw the subject of today’s shot.  I was walking through the South Side of Pittsburgh before meeting some coworkers for dinner, armed only with the 70-200 2.8.  I knew that if I even had the 16-35 with me I would be tempted to through it on and get a few wide angle HDRs.  Instead I just wanted to focus on candids.  Someone must have told all the characters to come out that day, because it just about a half hour of shooting I got four or five really quality candid situations, this being one of my favorites.

I was strolling along, camera in hand (never over the shoulder because you just don’t know when a great photo op will come along), when I saw this kid walking along.  The title of this post immediately came to mind and I got so excited to take the shot that I almost took the picture before he passed, which might have been a big awkward.  I calmy waited for him to pass, gave him a few strides to get past, smoothly turned around and fired off this shot, all while getting a weird look from a lady sitting at a red light directly to my right.

Did some light processing on this one.  Opened in Camera RAW, adjusted white balance slightly and increased the clarity.  Desaturated the reds and enhanced the blues to make his jeans stand out.  Over in Photoshop I added a slight S curve to increase contrast.  I then lowered overall saturation and increased the vibrance.  I was going to crop it in closer, but I didn’t want to lose the negative space to his left, and I didn’t add a pill box because I didn’t want to lose his feet.  Finally, added a Tonal Contrast filter in Color Efex and called it day.

TGIF, made it through the first week in the new building.  See you all on Monday.

6 responses

  1. Excellent quote! Thanks for sharing it! – And your processing is perfect! Excellent choices 🙂

    April 1, 2011 at 8:30 am

    • Thank you my friend! I appreciate you stopping by! Enjoy your weekend!

      April 1, 2011 at 8:50 am

  2. Superb work Dave, love the story too!!

    April 1, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    • Thanks Ken! Have a great weekend!

      April 1, 2011 at 1:37 pm

  3. sherrY gibsoN

    Love this… I like that You admit that You get excited at some shots…Love the processing of course…

    April 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    • Thanks Sherry! Nice to see you here, appreciate the visit!

      April 4, 2011 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

