HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Yeah, you too

Just going to be doing a quick post and run today.  It is our monthly financial close and work, and this impacts me since my current title is senior financial analyst.  Bit busy at the quarter end, but back in the swing of things tomorrow (hopefully).

Don’t you wish sometimes you could just tell off something that you couldn’t possibly tell off?  Like a Monday?  Or maybe the toaster that burned your bagel?  Or the pen that ran out of ink just as you sat down for a meeting?  Or a Monday?  Whoops, already said that one.  Well, this one is dedicated to all those things in life, though I’m pretty sure that if this girl wanted to tell me off she could.  I was on a photowalk with a buddy Ty Sharp and we were shooting some Pittsburgh cityscapes from atop a garage in downtown.  All of a sudden a bus lets out and all these people start walking across the street, some boring, some interesting, some ignoring us and some pointing and waving.  Or flipping us the bird.  These girls spotted us and while most of them seemed nice and friendly, one, um, wasn’t so much.  She subtly expressed her displeasure by flicking us off from five stories away.  I believe that this is the first time that I have ever been caught shooting a candid, and the complete range of reactions is present here, from a jovial hello to a rude middle finger.

Processing was light here, just a quick white balance adjustment, desaturation and Tonal Contrast filter.  Added the pill box for the cinematic effect.

Just to get you all caught up, above is my post from last night.  This is a shot of one of the buildings on the North Shore of Pittsburgh, right next to PNC Park.  I took this one during a photowalk with Brad Truxell, as he had shot it before, and I knew that it was a perfect candidate for HDR.  It is a seven exposure HDR processed with HDR Efex under the “Natural” setting.  Added a blue curves layer to bring out the glass and a red one to bring out the lobby.  I masked in the little piece of the sky, as well as added a Tonal Contrast filter in Color Efex.

Sorry again for the post and run, catch you guys tomorrow.

8 responses

  1. HAHAHA! Oh the memories! We were totally busted! And I love the second shot and the detail in it, Dave!

    April 4, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    • Thanks Ty! Yeah, I didn’t even see she was flicking me off until last week, haha

      April 5, 2011 at 6:37 am

  2. Damn Dave, take me there, pretty please??? I love the brush the hair flip the bird in the first shot! Saturday baby

    April 4, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • Thanks Wiz! Saturday is looking reallllly ugly!!!

      April 5, 2011 at 6:38 am

  3. Great catch Dave, and I love the HDR building, well processed! Jim

    April 4, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    • Thanks man! Hope you are enjoying Europe!

      April 5, 2011 at 6:39 am

  4. Lissie

    nice shot- with 10-22mm USM lens?

    April 15, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    • Actually it was the 70-200 2.8. I’ve been wanting something wider than my 16-35 though, wish Nikon would come out with one for FX. Thanks for the visit!

      April 15, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

