HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Outlawed

Little bit of a late post today, it’s been a crazy start to the week that’s for sure.  It’s always a little bit harder to get out of bed on the Monday following a nice long weekend.  I hope all of you who celebrated Easter yesterday had a nice day, at least the rain held off here for part of the day.  Today is warm and sunny, so maybe we are finally shaking the last bit of winter off.

A couple more shots from Carrie Furnace today on a quick blog and run post.  Above is from one of the control rooms there, though I can’t be 100% that that is what it is.  The graffiti tagged along the top of the locker like terminals is what really caught my eye.  For those of you with a keen enough eye you will see that this one has been processed with Photomatix 4.  I finally took the plunge and upgraded to 4 and will be using it alongside HDR Efex.  Not that I still don’t love HDR Efex, it’s just that it’s good to have as many tools in your toolbox as you can.

Next is one that was processed with HDR Efex from one of the many ladders that are around Carrie.  Again, I thought that the graffiti really stood out, more so as I have been looking through the pictures than I noticed when we were there.  You can really see the decay in this shot as well, as the rust and what little paint is left is really peeling away from the old cylinders.

Quick post today, more tomorrow.  Big game tonight, game 6 between the Pens and Lighting.  Pens win, they move on.  If not, game 7 on Wednesday.  Let’s hope for a win.

Let’s go Pens.

10 responses

  1. Wow, amazing shots… the level of texture and detail is unreal. Thanks for sharing them!

    April 25, 2011 at 11:54 am

  2. Thanks Mackenzie! I appreciate the visit!

    April 25, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  3. Dave these are SICK! Totally cool, and for the record I am “all in” when it comes to HDR Efex Pro. Can’t remember the last time I opened Photomatix – honestly. Anyways, great shots and love the processing. Jim

    April 25, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    • Thanks Jim…I’m still flipping back and forth. HDR Efex blows away Photomatix in terms of aligning images, so I still use that for my handheld stuff. I’m still torn!

      April 26, 2011 at 7:07 am

  4. I should have went to the control room, DAMN! Nice Dave, great work

    April 25, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    • Next time Wiz, next time! Thanks for stopping!

      April 26, 2011 at 7:07 am

  5. The level of decay and grunge is amazing. Great HDR and great HDR topic.

    April 25, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    • Thanks Andy, I appreciate the visit!

      April 26, 2011 at 7:07 am

  6. WOW! Holy smoke!

    This is awesome HDR image beyond my imagination. Gotta learn more about HDR …

    Thanks for sharing.

    April 26, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    • Thanks for the kind words and visit Terence!!

      April 26, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Leave a Reply

