HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Going back to school

I was really hoping to post some Pittsburgh Penguin pictures today and tell all about how they clinched the series last night.  Instead, they came out hot but then fell flat for the remainder of the game, as the Lightning evened the series at 3.  Game 7 on Wednesday.  I’ll be there and will be very loud.  Let’s go Pens.

Now, I’ve loved processing and sharing all the pictures of Carrie Furnace with all of you, but I thought that it was time for a bit more color on my flickr stream and my blog.  Like I said yesterday, I’ve been tinkering around with Photomatix 4 and am pleasantly surprised with some of the results that I am getting.  I went back through a set of shots that I took on a photowalk at my alma mater, Allegheny College in Meadville, PA, last fall, and I think that Photomatix really does them justice.  It was right in the middle of fall, when the campus looks really beautiful.  The above shot was my post today on flickr of the Tippie Alumni Center, a new building in the last five years or so.  This particular building as really made its rounds at the school, as it once had a bowling alley in the basement, was the post office, the English department and now the Alumni Center.  This is the rear view from the patio, where they host various events.

Above is a shot from a similar location (and will be today’s post on flickr), as you can see the Alumni Center on the right hand side of the shot.  This is walking towards the Campus Center, where they have a cafeteria, an auditorium, the activities office, mail, student government and some other various offices and departments.  This is another building that was redone in the last eight years or so, as they are trying to upgrade the campus.  On the left you see Alden, which houses the geology and computer science departments.  This shot was also processed with Photomatix.

One more view of the Tippie Alumni Center, this time from the front, just across the street.  This was my favorite shot that I took during my morning photowalk there and I have it hanging on my wall at home.

Finally, just a few steps from the last shot, we have Brooks Walk, which runs through the middle of campus and right up to Brooks Hall, which houses the girl dormitory as well as the buffet style cafeteria.  Brooks Walk plays host to concerts, Greek events, random campus activities, and for the few warm days that there are during the school year, it almost resembles a beach, with people throwing around Frisbees, girls sun tanning and all the laughing and happiness you would expect from a tropical getaway.  Except you’re in northwestern Pennsylvania.

Thanks for the visits everyone.

10 responses

  1. Awesome shots Dave! The first one is my fav, love the shadows.

    April 26, 2011 at 10:00 am

    • Thanks Jason! It kind of got los tin my archives, just decided to process!

      April 26, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  2. Freaking flares are awesome! oo, and you have tutorial I’m going to have to check out too!

    April 26, 2011 at 10:10 am

    • Thanks for stopping by! If you have any questions after you read the tutorials, let me know.

      April 26, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  3. Love the first shot the most, and then the last one looking down the walkway. Great job with these!

    April 26, 2011 at 11:48 am

    • Thanks Krisit…the last one is one of my favorites too, really shows off the campus! Thanks for stopping by!

      April 26, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  4. Nicely designed site! I like the top image the best.

    April 26, 2011 at 8:45 pm

  5. Sweet series of shots Dave! I love the shadows on the building in the first one, and the orange tree in the second. Well done, looks like a beauty of a campus!! Jim

    April 27, 2011 at 7:56 am

    • I appreciate that Jim! It definitely was a beautiful campus to be one!

      April 27, 2011 at 8:04 am

Leave a Reply

