HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Colorfully optimistic

Well, tonight is the big game.  Game 7.  Pens-Bolts.  I’ll be there, losing my voice.  That’s all I’m going to say about that right now.  Though I just have a feeling…

A few more to round out the Allegheny College tour.  I’ll tell you what.  Meadville, the northwestern PA town where Allegheny is located, may not be much to look at it, but the actual college in the fall is just incredible.  I was actually a bit worried when I was going up to Allegheny to shoot this series that the trees wouldn’t have enough color on them for me to get the shots that I wanted.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  Above is the administration building close to the center of campus, Bentley Hall.  I loved the way that the trees faded in color across the scene from green to red with just a hint of sunlight peaking in.

Next is one of the many colorful paths at on campus, this one right between the campus center and the library, which you can see off in the distance.  I was able to get to this location early enough in the day where the sun was still low in the sky, so half the path was in light and half in shadow.  The leafs laying on the hill next to the path added a nice element as well.

Finally, today’s shot.  This is Carr Hall, the math building on campus.  This is another one that I had originally passed up while processed this series with HDR Efex, but went back at it one more time with Photomatix.  I thought it that it was pretty cool how the sky seems to just continue around the building when you look at the reflection.  I normally don’t oversaturate colors like I did here, but for some reason I did, and I am happy with the result.

I’ve gotta feeling…that tonight’s gonna be a good night…

12 responses

  1. Gorgeous images Dave, they could be on canvas and hanging on a wall

    April 27, 2011 at 6:28 am

    • Thanks Jason…I would definitely love to print them, just not sure where to put them!

      April 27, 2011 at 6:54 am

  2. Spectacular Colors Dave. I particularly like the second shot down. The Perspective/Composition is Marvelous and the color and detail are just exquisite. Fabulous Work.

    April 27, 2011 at 6:41 am

  3. Nice work Dave! Love the use of glamour glow on the 2nd image (I’m guessing) and the leaves on the small hill, wonderful shots!! Jim

    April 27, 2011 at 7:58 am

    • Thanks Jim! Yep, you guess right! It’s the “Dark Soft” HDR Method in HDR Efex and then a Glamour Glow!

      April 27, 2011 at 8:03 am

  4. Great shots, I love the second one the best. The colors are amazing and the path really leads the eye through the scene. Great job!

    April 27, 2011 at 9:17 am

    • Thanks Jason! That was one of my favorites as well!

      April 28, 2011 at 7:00 am

  5. Yeah I think you got the color you were looking for. I like that path shot, very nice.

    April 27, 2011 at 9:33 am

    • Thank you so much! Yes, I’m glas mother nature obliged!

      April 28, 2011 at 7:00 am

  6. I like the second shot with the fall colors!

    April 28, 2011 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

