HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Shining and bright

As well all probably know by now, the world got a little brighter yesterday, as US forces finally were able to hunt down and kill Osama bin Laden.  I don’t need to say very much else about it, because we all know what a great day this is, and, as President Barack Obama put it, “welcomed by all who believe in peace and human dignity”.

In the spirit of the happiness that hundreds of millions of people around the world are feeling, I thought that I would continue the theme with a bright and colorful shot.  Flowers aren’t usually my thing, but as I was walking around downtown a few weeks ago, camera in hand, on one of the few nice days we’ve had recently, I saw this tree that was flowering right near the USX Tower.  The late afternoon light was hitting it just right, so I composed the sun just out of the scene and fired off the shot.  The reason that I didn’t do a sunflare on this HDR is that I wanted to get some nice bokeh, and had I included the sunflares in the image, I would have had to use an aperture of f14 or higher, which would have destroyed my depth of field.  I’m a huge fan of what the wide angle 16-35 f4 lens does in scenes like this, the object is close to the camera.

For the processing on this one, I took the middle exposure and tonemapped it in Photomatix 4.  Even HDR Efex couldn’t handle the alignment on this one, as the wind was blowing the branches all over the place.  After applying my usual HDR settings, I masked in the entire sky of the -2 exposure, as it was a bit blown out on the 0 EV shot.  I selected the sky using the “Color Range” option, which allows me to just select a certain range of colors, making it much easing to just mask in the sky.  I also applied both a Tonal Contrast filter (very slight) and Pro Contrast filter to give the image that final pop.

That’s all for my post today.  I spent Saturday at Heinz Field, so I have a few shots from there I will be posting this week.

USA.  USA.  USA.

16 responses

  1. Love the perspective on this wonderful shot. Great processing work as well.

    May 2, 2011 at 7:08 am

    • Thanks Jimi, much appreciated! Enjoy your week!

      May 2, 2011 at 7:16 am

  2. Very nice. Great choice of images today!

    May 2, 2011 at 7:43 am

    • Thanks Rob, I appreciate you stopping by!

      May 2, 2011 at 8:04 am

  3. Great shot and love the processing! Works great with the wide angle.

    May 2, 2011 at 9:50 am

    • Thanks Chris! I do love using the wide angle on scenes other than city scapes!

      May 2, 2011 at 10:03 am

  4. Really cool shot. I like the shallow DOF in it.

    May 2, 2011 at 9:52 am

  5. Beautiful shot Dave. I love the DOF.

    May 2, 2011 at 9:59 am

  6. Great perspective on that shot & composition! I love springtime!

    May 2, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  7. Beautiful shot Dave, great to mix it up sometimes! Well done and the POV is excellent too! Jim

    May 2, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    • Yeah, can’t let people get bored from all those cityscapes! Thanks Jim!

      May 3, 2011 at 8:50 am

  8. Nice shot! Its very peaceful, just how today should be.

    May 2, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

