HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Seas of gold

So against every instinct I have in regards to professional football, this weekend I attended the Pittsburgh Steelers Fan Blitz.  And you know what?  It ended up not being too bad.

Let me say this.  I didn’t always used to be so anti-Steeler; in fact, I even used to have a Steeler shirt.  I think it was something about former fullback Chris Fuamatu-Ma’afala (yes, I 100% had to look up how to spell that).  But somewhere, somehow, I grew to utterly despise a few current and former Steeler players, and it really has just snowballed since then.  See, I am a Cowboys fan, and although we’ve had it rough the past couple years, this is the year we are turning it around.  Just wait.

Both of today’s shot are different views of Heinz Field from last Saturday.  One of the cool things about being down at the Fan Blitz was that you got to walk on the field.  They had drills and events for the kids and field goal kicking for everyone else.  I took the shot above right at the corner of the open end zone, looking towards the rest of the field.  I know that it is a little crooked, but I liked that you could see a father and son posing by the goal post, and if I straightened it, then it would have cropped out half their legs.  This is a five exposure handheld HDR that I processed with Photomatix.  I masked in the bottom third of the shot to correct all the ghosts as a result of the people moving.

Today’s official shot is a different view of the field.  I took this from the second level after one of the autograph sessions.  Oh yeah, I completely forgot to mention that.  While I was there, I took a 20×30 HDR of Heinz Field that I had shot last fall in for the former players to sign and ended up getting 13 autographs.  Pretty cool.  We also ate lunch with former linebacker Andy Russell, who said that in his first year in the league he made $12,000.  And now the players and owners are fighting of $9 billion.  Unreal.  Anyways, this is a nine shot panorama, with each shot being made up of a five exposure HDR, something that I hadn’t done before, at least not on this magnitude.  It ended up looking pretty much the way I wanted it, although try as I may I couldn’t get the bit of grey in the sky over the middle part of the stadium fixed.  Still happy with it.

That’s all for today folks.  See you tomorrow.

25 responses

  1. Great photos Dave. I love the processing on the clouds. Just incredible work!

    May 3, 2011 at 9:42 am

    • Thanks Jason! Clouds were made for HDR, no doubt!

      May 3, 2011 at 9:44 am

  2. awesome shots Dave, just love the processing man! Jim

    May 3, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Thanks Jim! Always appreciate the visit!

      May 3, 2011 at 11:01 am

  3. That 2nd shot is really cool. Every time I try and do a Pano it turns into a jumbled mess, lol. Good work!!

    May 3, 2011 at 10:45 am

    • Thanks Aaron! I’m still really figuring them out myself!

      May 3, 2011 at 11:02 am

  4. Well as I said on your flickr site……Awesome! Some of your best work Dave. Exhilarating Color! I too am a Cowboys fan…Have been since the early 70’s but honestly I have to tell You I liked the team better when Tex Schramm was calling the shots and Tom Landry was Coaching. Too much Glitz for me now but I still root for em. And like you…I despise the Steelers.

    May 3, 2011 at 10:52 am

    • Thanks John! I think all of the NHL is too much glitz in general, and that is typified by the fact that they are fighting over $9 billion. I like our chances this year! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 3, 2011 at 11:03 am

  5. I love the second one A LOT.

    May 3, 2011 at 10:54 am

  6. Nice job! Love the colors in these, that second one especially. It’s OK to be a Cowboys fan… As long as you aren’t a Packers fan, I can keep coming by 😉

    May 3, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    • Thanks Chris! No, being a Cowboys fan makes me strongly dislike those cheeseheads from the north. Although I wasn’t too upset they beat the Steelers this year!

      May 3, 2011 at 12:45 pm

  7. Great work as always!!!!

    May 3, 2011 at 1:47 pm

  8. Second one is definitely my favorite. Great composition!

    May 3, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    • Thanks Kristi! I appreciate the visit!

      May 3, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  9. Awesome post Dave! Stadiums make for such great subjects 🙂

    May 3, 2011 at 10:57 pm

  10. Love these stadium photos. Fantastic work on the pano.

    May 4, 2011 at 12:44 am

    • Thanks Andy! I think I am finally getting the hang of them, just took me about 3 years!

      May 4, 2011 at 5:56 am

  11. Heinz Field never looked so good as here in these awesome captures.

    As a resident of Owings Mills Maryland living just 5 minutes from “The Castle” aka Baltimore Ravens Headquarters, this is definitely enemy territory. 🙂

    I’ll continue the football jargon by “piling on” and saying that I’m no Cowboy fan either.

    Having said all of that, I can now say that I am a fan of great phiotography and you have surely provided that. 🙂

    Must have been a lot of ghosting in these images, none of which survived your processing.

    Really nice work!

    May 4, 2011 at 5:52 am

    • Thanks a lot for stopping by Jimi! I can tell you this…the Ravens are my second favorite team behind the Cowboys, only because of the rivalry with the Steelers. During last year’s playoffs, I was the only one in a bar full of Steelers fans rooting for the Ravens…I thought you guys were going to pull it out too!

      May 4, 2011 at 5:57 am

      • Jimi Jones

        That was the low-water mark for the Ravens franchise, letting that game escape their grasp. Gotta give the Steelers their due though.

        May 4, 2011 at 9:38 am

  12. Here we go Steelers!!!!! =))))

    May 4, 2011 at 9:19 am

    • This is the year of the ‘Boys!!!

      May 4, 2011 at 11:18 am

Leave a Reply

