HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Shallow steps

This morning I added another piece to my photo editing arsenal which already includes Color Efex, Silver Efex, HDR Efex, Photomatix, Photoshop CS4 and CS5 and now…the onOne Photo Suite.  I’m pretty excited, especially because yesterday morning I had never even heard of the software, downloaded it last night and get the license before the sales expired.  Definitely worth picking up, as you can save over $150 right now.  Sale said it ended yesterday, but it’s still on their website this morning.

Onto to today’s shot.  I just have one upload today, but I wanted to thank all of you who visited my Seas of gold post yesterday.  I think that I am going to be in the market for a fisheye lens soon, as I really liked the way that the Heinz Field panorama turned out.  I may rent one first, just to make sure that I like it.  And so I have something to pass the time before mine gets here.

This is a shot that I took a few weeks ago while moseying through downtown on one of the first nice days we’ve had in Pittsburgh this spring.  In the Steel City, we don’t have a subway, but we do have a trolley.  It’s a bit limited on where you can take it to and from, unless you live in the South Hills of Pittsburgh, which I do.  If that’s the case, then you are good to go.  There are about four stops within a mile of my house, the T (as it is affectionately known) will take you to Station Square or one of four other locations downtown.  This shot is of one of those stops, well, at least the steps down to one of the stops.

One thing that I like about the 16-35 lens is the slight distortion you get at the wide end, which you can clearly see here on the first few steps.  Also, for just being an f4 lens, the depth of field and bokeh can be quite good as well.  When I got my D700 I tossed around the idea of getting the 14-24, which I may end up eventually getting, but I didn’t like the idea of having to lug around a camera that had the lens hood permanently attached.  I know, I know, a fisheye has one attached as well, but the 14-24 is a bit of a monster.

Anyways, this is a five exposure HDR processed with Photomatix.  Just did some slight curves adjustments and added a little vignette to bring the focus to the center of the image.

Catch everyone tomorrow, and thanks for the visits.

14 responses

  1. nice work Dave, great POV! Did you use Focal Point (from onOne) or whatever they call it on this one? Been meaning to pick up that suite too, sounds like I may have missed a deal – maybe. Looks like I could slide down that thing like a surfer or something! Jim

    May 4, 2011 at 8:13 am

    • Thanks Jim! I actually didn’t use Color Efex or the onOne Software on this one! One of the few I didn’t! Just a vingette added! It’s a pretty cool suite, onOne that is!

      May 4, 2011 at 11:17 am

  2. Dave, cool!! Fells like I was drinking and the view looking down the steps!!

    May 4, 2011 at 9:18 am

    • Haha, nah, I wasn’t yet Pete, that was later! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 4, 2011 at 11:17 am

  3. This is a neat shot, I like how only the bar is really in focus.

    It’s funny, is it just me or does it look like there is more distortion on the left than the right?

    Looks cool.

    May 4, 2011 at 10:05 am

    • I think you’re right Aaron, I must have not had the camera centered on the railing. Tought to do when there are always people trying to walk by! Thanks for the visit!

      May 4, 2011 at 11:18 am

  4. Great photo Dave. I love the focus and the bokeh here.

    May 4, 2011 at 10:29 am

  5. Love the focal point on this one!

    May 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

  6. Great POV and DOF!

    May 4, 2011 at 3:25 pm

  7. Nice shot, Dave.
    Almost has me grabbing for a handrail when I look down to the base of the staircase. 🙂

    May 6, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    • Haha, sorry about that Jimi! Thanks for stopping!

      May 7, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

