HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Back into the fire

At least for today, we will be making a trip back to Carrie Furnace.  I know that I’ve been jumping around a lot lately, but I feel like sometimes I will go to process an image and think, “Eh, not really feeling this one today”.  Then I’ll see the exact same set of brackets a week later and say to myself “Why the hell haven’t I processed this yet?!?!”  Well, I’ve been doing that a lot lately, especially after my recent upgrade to Photomatix.  I’ve been going back to shots that I wasn’t crazy about the result out of HDR Efex that I now love out of Photomatix.  So because of this I’ve been all over the place lately.  Which I am fine with.  Gives you a bit of variety.

This first shot (and today’s official post) is the view of one of the, um, one of the, uhh, I have no idea really.  Maybe it’s one of the actual furnaces?  All I know it is looked pretty cool in person and even cooler in HDR.  Mike, aka Theaterwiz posted this same view a few weeks ago, check out his work if you have a chance, you won’t be disappointed.  One of the coolest things about Carrie Furnace was all the graffiti.  If really cut through all the rust and stuck out like a sore thumb, adding some pop to every scene.  The processing was fairly straightforward on this one.  It is a seven exposure HDR processed with Photomatix and given a Tonal Contrast filter in Color Efex.  I like processing scenes like this sometimes because you don’t have to worry about dust spot removal, halos, etc; you can be a bit more over the top with it.

I wanted to share a bit of a different view as well, just slightly to the left of the first shot.  I decided to go B&W for this one, and I even mulled over the selective coloring.  I sometimes have a tendency to overdo that effect, so after processing it with HDR Efex I gave it a run through Silver Efex to see how it would turn out and ended up being pretty happy with the result.  Maybe I’ll start doing a bit more in B&W.

Ahh, Thursday.  Hope you all enjoy yours.

16 responses

  1. Great images Dave, I love the processing! Thanks for all your great comments and tweets, I really appreciate it!

    May 5, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • Thanks Jason! And no problem man, my pleasure!

      May 5, 2011 at 11:54 am

  2. Outstanding processing. Really love the first one, that graffiti adds a lot to it overall. The B&W is also quite nice.

    Good work!

    May 5, 2011 at 10:45 am

    • Thanks Jimi! Yeah, this place was FILLED with graffiti; gotta make a trip back to capture more!

      May 5, 2011 at 11:54 am

  3. That’s sweet bro! Love rust and HDR and all that goodness that comes from putting them together! Well done! And yes, variety is great. I jump all over the place without any theme whatsoever but it keeps it interesting for me HA! Jim

    May 5, 2011 at 10:50 am

    • Thanks a lot Jim! Variety certainly is the spice of life!

      May 5, 2011 at 11:54 am

  4. I feel ya man! I have had the same feeling on frames I have taken. Sometimes it just takes a fresh mood or a different way of thinking about a shot to open the creative door.

    That Mono shot looks sweet BTW!

    May 5, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • Thanks for stopping by Aaron! Yeah, there are times when I’ve scrapped hours worth of work, just to start over again!

      May 5, 2011 at 11:55 am

  5. I’m really loving these furnace shots. Outstanding details here and processing b

    May 5, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    • Thanks man! We were a little nervious posking around so we only stayed for 20 mins or so. Definitely gotta get back!

      May 5, 2011 at 12:09 pm

  6. Love these shots. There are some fantastic rust textures, and the framing is great. Love it!

    May 5, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    • Thanks Chris, I appreciate the visit!

      May 5, 2011 at 1:47 pm

  7. Dave, super super awesome shots!!! Love these!!

    May 5, 2011 at 3:01 pm

  8. Awesome urbex! I like them both!

    May 5, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    • Thanks Krisit, I appreciate the visit!

      May 6, 2011 at 7:14 am

Leave a Reply

