HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Bringing your own sunshine

“Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine.”
~Anthony J. D’Angelo

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done a Friday post so I thought it was about time to do one.  This spring we have had 34 days of rain and only 14 without (and even fewer sunny ones), I thought about the above quote and how appropriate it seemed for anyone living in the western Pennsylvania region over the last few weeks.

I took this shot on one of those few sunny days we’ve had this spring walking around downtown, waiting for the wife and some friends to get out of work.  It was actually a perfect day to go on a photowalk, as it wasn’t too warm, there was a slight breeze, the lighting was great in downtown, streets weren’t overly crowded for a Thursday afternoon.  I kind of have a thing for capturing sunflares, and when the reflection of one in the USX Building caught my eye, I couldn’t resist the shot.

This is a five exposure HDR processed in Photomatix, Photoshop CS5 and onOne PhotoTools.  I did a bit of masking in the sky to get rid of a few halos and dust spots, as well as masked in the cars on the lower right to get rid of some ghosting.  Lowered overall saturation and applied the Turbo Boost effect in PhotoTools and called it a wrap.

Thanks for stopping by this week and I hope you all enjoy your weekend.

15 responses

  1. Double flare Friday!! Sweet processing Dave, you totally rocked it. Have a great weekend buddy! Jim

    May 6, 2011 at 8:52 am

  2. Double sunburst! Great job Dave, love the reflection there!

    May 6, 2011 at 9:17 am

    • Thanks Jason! Enjoy your weekend!

      May 6, 2011 at 9:21 am

  3. Great shot!

    And damn, that’s to much rain! I bet everything including the cat is all wrinkly!

    May 6, 2011 at 9:52 am

    • Thanks Aaron! Yeah, it’s been a bit depressing, haha Will stop by your blog later, for some reason my work computer won’t let me comment!

      May 6, 2011 at 10:34 am

  4. Looks like you definitely brought the sunshine in a few different ways here. Great shot!

    May 6, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    • Thanks Kristi! Have a good weekend!

      May 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm

  5. Outstanding shot. You put on a good deal of work processing this, it looks great. The sunflare adds a really nice touch.

    May 6, 2011 at 1:41 pm

  6. That’s a great shot! Love the double flares!

    May 9, 2011 at 9:57 am

    • Thanks Chris! I love being able to catch these!

      May 9, 2011 at 11:22 am

  7. PERFECT! Dave, LOVE this shot, bro! If I took that shot, I would most definitely hang that in my living room. I don’t know how it could be any better. Honestly impressed!

    May 11, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  8. Pingback: Under the Ft. Duquesne Bridge HDR | Daily Photos

Leave a Reply

