HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Streaking through town

Ok, so nobody thought that I was really going to post something about me or anyone else streaking through down, did they?  Probably wouldn’t be the best move to try to drive more traffic to my blog, trust me.

Anyways, more from Mt. Washington.  For those of you who haven’t been to Pittsburgh or who don’t follow me regularly, it is a neighborhood above the South Side of the city that provides an excellent view of the Steel City.  Originally named Coal Hill for the coal seam that ran at its base, the name was changed to Mt. Washington in 1876 and has been ever since.  One area of Mt. Washington that I have yet to photograph are the Duquesne and Monongahela Inclines, which are the oldest continuous running inclines in the world.  I actually haven’t even been on one in probably 15 years, when I was just a kid.

You can get so caught up in the view of the skyline and the bright lights of the city and the various stadiums that sometimes you tend to look at interesting areas that you can’t see that with a wide angle lens.  Like I said yesterday, I put on the 70-200 2.8 on this particular trip and tried to capture some of the more intricate workings of the city from a unique vantage point.  Above is one of them.  This area is known as the Point and immediately to the left of the busy roadways is where Fort Pitt, named for William Pitt who also gave his name to the city, used to stand.  You can still see its outline at Point State Park.  This is an HDR that I’ve taken twice before, but never with the D700 and never with this kind of glass, and I really like how the light trails turned out.  It was Sunday night so that traffic was kind of intermittent, but I plan to go back during rush hour to see if I can get any more extreme light trails.

This is a 7 exposure HDR processed with Photomatix and then kicked over the CS5.  I did some shadow adjusts and then tonemapped the +2 exposure in Photomatix so that I could mask in the better set of light trails from the brackets.  Did a curves adjustment on the greens and reds and then put it through Color Efex to apply a Tonal Contrast filter.  Finally, did some sharpening in onOne PhotoTools and called it a day.

Thanks for stopping by.  See y’all tomorrow.

22 responses

  1. So vibrant and bright! Love the light trails.

    May 10, 2011 at 6:50 am

  2. man, that is awesome Dve, love all the colors and light trails, great work my friend! Jim

    May 10, 2011 at 8:10 am

  3. Great color pop throughout the image.

    May 10, 2011 at 8:34 am

  4. This is light therapy at its best! I love the zig-zag road system as the leading lines of the bridge take you right into the city. Remarkable color quality, Dave.

    May 10, 2011 at 8:52 am

  5. Awesome night shot!

    May 10, 2011 at 9:04 am

  6. Awesome work, Dave!
    The colors really bring this to life.

    May 10, 2011 at 9:12 am

  7. Great compression on this shot! Love the detail and the light trails dude. Good stuff.

    May 10, 2011 at 9:26 am

    • Thanks Jason! Took a bit of masking to get them how I wanted, but it turned out great!

      May 10, 2011 at 11:46 am

  8. Lovely light trails and processing! 🙂

    May 10, 2011 at 9:45 am

  9. These are amazing photos. I love how sharp and detailed everything is, and the colors are great too.

    May 10, 2011 at 11:00 am

    • Thanks a lot Ryan, I appreciate the visit!

      May 10, 2011 at 11:47 am

  10. Really neat processing on this one. Looks cool!

    May 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  11. Nice processing. Love the light trails!

    May 10, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

