HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Centurial

Well, today is my 100th post on my blog.  Of the last 99, 26 of them were from 2009 and 2010 combined with the rest coming this year, which is kind of crazy, given the fact that I just started really committing to my blog in late January.  Daily traffic to my blog has tripled since then as well, so I just wanted to take the time to thank everyone who is a regular visitor and also those of you who just mosey on by every once and while.  I really appreciate all the support I receive from everyone.  Here’s to another couple hundred.  Or thousand.

 

Today’s shot is one that I really don’t even remember taking.  I mean, I can believe I took it, but as I was looking through my pictures from Mt. Washington I saw it and thought, “Huh”.  So I went ahead and processed it and really liked the way that it came out.  This is a view up the Monongahela River, one of the two rivers that meet at the Point to form the Ohio River.  You also get a view of some of the distinct bridges we have in the city (from bottom to top, excluding the second from the bottom which is the trolley bridge):  Smithfield Street, Liberty, 10th Street and Birmingham.  In the center of the shot you can see the Allegheny County Jail (which you also saw a few posts ago) and in the foreground is the top of the Grand Concourse in Station Square.  Off in the distance is the top of the Cathedral of Learning, the iconic building on the campus of the University of Pittsburgh in Oakland.  All that being said, I think my favorite thing about this shot is the shadow that is created by the city lights of the trolley bridge on the water.  You would normally expect to see reflections, but I was pleasantly surprised to see the shadows.

On to the processing.  This is a seven exposure HDR processed with Photomatix.  It was a bit flat coming out of the tonemapping, so I applied an S curve to bring back some of the contrast.  I applied a Pro Contrast filter in Color Efex, as well as a warming filter in Photoshop to cool the entire image.  In onOne PhotoTools I used the Progressive Sharpening filter to being out some details and the Firenza filter to also cool down the blues.  A bit of spot healing in the sky to get rid of some dust specks and that was that.

Again, thank you for all of your support on my last 100 posts.  I hope that you all will continue to follow me in the future.

26 responses

  1. Congrats on post 100! I look forward to many more great shot from you 😉

    May 18, 2011 at 6:45 am

  2. Wow… I really like how the water looks, and the reflections in it.

    Great shot.

    May 18, 2011 at 8:55 am

  3. Love how sharp those reflections are. Like glass.

    May 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

  4. dude this is sick! how have you been holding this one back? it’s awesome Dave, and I noticed those shadows too from the trolley bridge and they rock!! I’ll keep watching your stuff my friend! thanks for your support too!

    May 18, 2011 at 10:08 am

    • Anytime Jim! And thanks for stopping by!

      May 19, 2011 at 6:39 am

  5. Wow, 5 bridges in one shot! Love the lights, love the reflections… Great stuff Dave!

    May 18, 2011 at 10:13 am

    • It’s impossible to take a picture from Mt. Washington and not get a handful of bridges, haha Thanks Jason!

      May 19, 2011 at 6:40 am

  6. Dave, awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Getting me excited to visit!!! Let ya know in early June when the date will be!

    May 18, 2011 at 10:26 am

  7. Great vantage point and brilliant colors

    May 18, 2011 at 10:31 am

  8. Congrats on the milestone! Love the colors in this shot!

    May 18, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  9. Congrats on 100! And this is a great shot!

    May 18, 2011 at 3:28 pm

  10. christy

    my jaw is still hanging on the floor. it is breathtaking!!!

    May 18, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  11. I really like how the river leads you through the frame. With all of the lights and structures what really caught my eye was the water. Nice image!

    May 18, 2011 at 8:40 pm

  12. Great photo, Dave. Really like the lights and bridges. Awesome!

    May 18, 2011 at 10:00 pm

  13. Gino C

    great work Dave.. Allegheny County has more bridges in the county then anywhere in the world..thanx I can never get enough of this view.

    May 18, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    • Yes it does Gino! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 19, 2011 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

