HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Device confusion

Some weeks seem to take longer to get to Friday, but once it’s here, everything is all right.  Happy Friday everyone.

 

How about something completely different for today?  I’ve been wanting to create this shot for a while now, and even though I took it a few weeks ago, I didn’t get around to processing it until yesterday.  Back in mid March I finally got my iPad 2 (didn’t have the first one) and I wanted to take advantage of the camera that it is equipped with.  Now, just because I have an iPhone, iPod, iPad 2 and an iMac does not make me one of those people who denounce all that technology that is not Apple.  I thoroughly enjoy all my Apple products, but can still see the benefit and advantages of those non Apple devices and have no problem with anyone who uses them.  Not trying to turn this into a Mac vs. PC debate, just wanted to throw my stance out there.

For this scene, I first took a shot of myself holding both my iPhone and iPod.  Easy enough, took me one try.  Now for the tricky part.  I had to take a picture of the iPad in front of me, showing my face on the screen, looking towards one of my other Apple devices.  This took me about half an hour to get right.  I was having problems getting the iPad lined up right where my head didn’t look freakishly small.  I still actually had to do some work in post to enlarge the picture of me holding the iPad, which made the iPad look just a liiiiittle bit bigger than it really is.  Regardless of that, I like how it turned out.

Other than that, just had some fun with filters in Color Efex and onOne PhotoTools.  In CE, I added the vignette and a Tonal Contrast filter, as well as a Pro Contrast one.  In onOne, I applied the Blue Dawn Leonidas, Turbo Boost and a Noir one (can’t remember the exact name).

That’s it for me this week.  See you guys and gals on Monday.

33 responses

  1. Fantastic work man! That half hour of work on the iPad really paid off. Now if only we could get you into a good jersey…preferably one in a red and white color from the Detroit area. Just a thought 😉

    May 20, 2011 at 7:30 am

    • Thanks Chris! I still couldn’t get in lined up 100% right, as you can see the top of the bar on the iPad doesn’t line up with the actual top of the bar. Oh well, nobody’s perfect!

      You know the funny thing about that? If I had to choose a second favorite team, it would be the Wings for sure! I have a lot of repsect for all those guys, classy organization!!

      May 20, 2011 at 7:45 am

  2. Well this is fantastic. Excellent Work. The effort and workflow that went into this boggles my feeble brain. Congrats.

    I am quite taken with the ipad2 and would easily plop down the cash yesterday but…I have a PC and I don’t need to get into the nightmare and expense of getting an ipad to talk with a PC. I’m too old to mess with it. Now….about that Jersey………

    John H.

    May 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

    • Thanks John!

      That’s one thing that I can’t speak too. I don’t think that I know anyone who has an iPad and a PC (though I’m sure there are a ton of them out there), so I don’t know how well they get along. I can’t imagine it would be that bad, since the iPad is managed through iTunes like the iPhone.

      And gotta support my team!!!

      May 20, 2011 at 8:04 am

  3. Wicked cool Dave! Sounds and looks like it took a lot of time and work but it paid off – great image!

    May 20, 2011 at 8:03 am

    • Thanks Curt! It was definitely a lot easier in my head before I started, haha

      May 20, 2011 at 8:04 am

  4. that’s cool Dave, and looks like your bar is stocked for the weekend!

    May 20, 2011 at 8:47 am

    • Thanks Jim! And not just for the weekend…everyday! haha

      May 20, 2011 at 8:52 am

  5. So creative and so well done!

    May 20, 2011 at 8:59 am

  6. What a fun shot Dave. I love the creativity.

    May 20, 2011 at 9:08 am

  7. Awesome! I love these types of shots. Have a great weekend Dave!

    May 20, 2011 at 9:26 am

  8. Susan (DigitalSLG)

    Really well done Dave…very creative!! Have a great weekend. 🙂

    May 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

  9. Pingback: Device confusion « HDR Exposed | Apple Electronic Guide

  10. I really dig the creativity of this photo!! I’d be ecstatic if I could produce a photo like this with only a half hour of tweaking! Awesome work!!

    May 20, 2011 at 11:55 am

  11. Pretty fun stuff! Nice work.

    May 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  12. Great idea, great shot! Very enjoyable and definitely something different! Way to think outside the box…

    May 20, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    • Thanks a lot Chris, I appreciate that!

      May 22, 2011 at 9:08 am

  13. Ha! Crazy shot man, that’s cool! Reminds me of this Indy movie where people have black and white flat screen TVs for faces…

    May 20, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    • Well that sounds interesting Aaron! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 22, 2011 at 9:08 am

  14. That is quite different, but a creative piece of work!

    May 20, 2011 at 2:54 pm

  15. Great job, Dave.
    I like that creative approach, which I think is something that keeps it all wonderfully interesting. 🙂

    May 20, 2011 at 4:11 pm

  16. This is great, you inspired me to go animal today, lol, we gotta shoot soon!

    May 20, 2011 at 4:45 pm

  17. Great fun shot here, Dave!

    …I really gotta get me an iPad 2. Assuming no Rapture today.

    May 20, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    • Rapture come and gone! Go for it David! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

Leave a Reply

