HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Taking it all in

Happy Monday everyone, I hope that you all had a great and relaxing weekend.  Even if it wasn’t relaxing, I hope that it was still great.  We had two beautiful days in a row here in Pittsburgh, which hasn’t happened for months.  More storms to come this week, but for now, we are enjoying the nice weather.

I was thinking about maybe starting some kind of a theme day on the blog, given that I have posted candids on consecutive Mondays.  I’m not sure how many I will be able to post in a row, as I have a very limited backlog of them, but I’ll give it a shot.  Today, I introduce Candid Mondays.

Back to Mt. Washington we go, to continue with shots from Mothers’ day a few weeks ago.  Like I’ve said before, I had the telephoto lens on for most of the day/evening, trying to branch out from my current wide angle addiction and this is one of the results.  I was heading back down Grandview Avenue, the main drag through the hill top community to get some HDRs from the very overlook that these two were standing on.  Unlike the candid I posted last Monday, which was a hurry up and get the camera up as fast I could shot, this was a little bit easier to capture.

Simple processing here.  Opened the RAW in Photoshop, desaturated the entire image and increased the vibrance.  Brought back some of the saturation of the reds and greens, and increased both the black levels and overall contrast.  Added a very slight Tonal Contrast filter to everything but the sky, a Pro Contrast filter to the entire image, and the Hollywood Effect in onOne software to polish to it.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the inaugural Candid Monday.  Back to the HDRs tomorrow.

28 responses

  1. I really like how small these two look in contrast to that huge background. Great job!

    May 23, 2011 at 7:10 am

  2. Great sense of scale! Wonderful composition and depth of field!

    May 23, 2011 at 7:12 am

  3. Nice work as usual, Dave!
    Lots to see in this image and I agree with Jim, the sense of scale really makes this an awesome view.

    I think you and I are sharing the same weather, it’s been rainy any generally pretty crappy of late here in Maryland. Just came off of 8 straight days of stormy weather, although the weekend was great for the Preskness Stakes. :-)

    May 23, 2011 at 7:43 am

    • Thanks a lot Jimi!

      You know, it’s crazy, we are getting pounded with rain, with more storms to come this afternoon, and then they have a drought in TX. We just need to switch up the jet stream a bit!

      May 23, 2011 at 7:51 am

  4. Great framing Dave and I love the DOF in this shot!

    May 23, 2011 at 7:49 am

  5. Thats a great moment you captured Dave. I look forward to more candid Mondays.

    May 23, 2011 at 9:40 am

  6. Looks like Candid Mondays will be a hit. That looks like they were sharing a very romantic moment together.

    May 23, 2011 at 9:50 am

    • I hope they will be Kristi! Thanks for the visit!

      May 23, 2011 at 10:12 am

  7. Love the comp on this Dave. The dof really draws you to the couple.

    May 23, 2011 at 9:51 am

  8. OK, out of the candids that I have seen you post I think I like this one the best. Really nice.

    May 23, 2011 at 9:55 am

    • Thanks Aaron, I appreciate that!

      May 23, 2011 at 10:12 am

  9. Great framing and I love that blurred background. Nice work.

    May 23, 2011 at 11:09 am

  10. Great job capturing the moment! Love the DoF!

    May 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  11. Wow, what a beautiful casual shot! The DOF in this shot really accentuates the elevation!!

    May 23, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  12. nicely done Dave and great catch! Jim

    May 23, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  13. What a view! Fantastic.

    May 24, 2011 at 10:42 am

  14. Dude, this is a FANTASTIC shot! Love it!

    May 24, 2011 at 11:37 am

    • Thanks a lot Chris, I appreciate it!

      May 24, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers