HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Topsy turvy

Well, I finally took the plunge.  Went out a registered a domain and am in the process of completely revamping my blog/website.  I’m not exactly sure how long the whole process is going to take, but I hope to have everything up and running by the end of next week, so stay tuned.  I also wanted to say a big thank you to Chris Frailey, who even got his wife involved in answering some questions I had, and also to Jason Hines and Chris Nitz, who also were able to help me.  All three of these guys are fine photographers; please make sure to check out their sites if you haven’t already.

For today’s shot we head to Delaware Park in Buffalo, New York, where I was on Saturday afternoon for a friend’s wedding, just in attendance, not as the photographer.  On a side note, they had four photographers at their wedding, which I had never seen before.  Anyways, we had about two and half hours to kill between the ceremony and the reception and since it was a beautiful day, we opted to find a park to hang out at.  This was the closest, so we made our way down there.  We saw a bunch of different weddings come through, which was extremely interesting to see, as there were brides, grooms and bridal parties of all makes and models.

This is a five exposure HDR processed with Photomatix and then kicked over the CS5.  I first did an overall curves adjustment, then opened it in onOne PhotoTools.  I applied the WoW Landscape filter and then a slight Firenze filter, to give it the bit of a reddish hue.  Next up was Color Efex, where I added a Pro Contrast filter and the vignette.  Removed a few dust spots, flipped it on its head, and shipped it off to the blog.  Enjoy.

Happy Wednesday everyone and thanks for stopping by.

26 responses

  1. Congrats and good luck on your new site, Dave.

    Great shot and processing, as usual. 🙂
    I’ll have to try that WoW Landscape filter, haven’t used that one yet. The reflections here are awesome. Nice touch with the flip.

    May 25, 2011 at 6:42 am

    • Thanks Jimi! First time I’ve used it, adds some nice color and contrast to the image.

      May 25, 2011 at 6:57 am

  2. Great photographs! I don’t care if they’re HDR, they’re still beautiful.

    May 25, 2011 at 6:47 am

  3. Love that sky. Nice touch by flipping it around. I had to do a double take at first to figure out what happened with the trees in the center of the frame.

    May 25, 2011 at 6:51 am

    • Thanks Chris! As soon as I saw this, I knew exactly how I wanted to process it!

      May 25, 2011 at 6:56 am

  4. Dreamy shot bud! Cool reflection!

    May 25, 2011 at 7:09 am

  5. Sweet reflection and great processing! Nice touch with flipping the watermark too!

    May 25, 2011 at 7:29 am

    • Thanks Curt! I thought about not doing that WM, but then though, eh, why not!

      May 25, 2011 at 7:33 am

  6. Wow man this is awesome. Amazing shot!

    May 25, 2011 at 9:39 am

  7. Great stuff Dave. Good luck with the new site, let me know if you need any help. And thanks for the mention, I appreciate it.

    May 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

    • Thanks Jason and will do! In the process of migrating the data over now. And no problem!

      May 25, 2011 at 12:09 pm

  8. Love the “flip-flop” – keeps things interesting! An altered, animated state; beautifully processed.

    May 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

  9. Nicely done! The sky (pond?) is particularly beautiful.

    May 25, 2011 at 10:54 am

  10. yeah, great flip, it threw me for a minute! good luck on the new site, what are you going to use as the basis for it?

    May 25, 2011 at 11:03 am

    • Hey Jim, thanks a lot! Once I get the data migrated over I am going to leverage Elengant Themes to build off of.

      May 25, 2011 at 12:11 pm

  11. Sweet shot Dave. Really like the processing on this.

    May 25, 2011 at 12:46 pm

  12. Oops hit the submit button too soon. Thank you for the mention and looking forward to the new site. If you have any other questions feel free to ask.

    May 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    • No problem Chris, I appreciate your help. Thanks for stopping by!

      May 25, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  13. Great shot. I Love the reflection! Well done, Dave!

    May 25, 2011 at 1:21 pm

  14. Excellent shot Dave, Best of luck with the new site! What a pain in the ass! :))

    May 26, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

