HDR Photography and More by Dave DiCello

Focused on the now

­I don’t normally get too philosophical on my posts, but today I think I might, as this will be a shorter post.

It seems like we (myself included) are always looking ahead, looking forward to something in the future, be it a vacation, a wedding, a graduation, holiday, or simply the weekend.  Most of the time, there is nothing wrong with that at all, especially in regards to major life events, like a wedding or the birth of a child.  Life goes by so quick and when we spend time hoping and waiting for things to come, it can make it go even quicker.  Sometimes, we just need to take a step back and take a look around us to enjoy where we are and what we are doing right now.  If we spend every day just waiting for tomorrow, have we really gotten everything we could out of today?

On to today’s shot, which inspired the sentiment of my blog today.  I’ve taken a shot similar to this in downtown Pittsburgh before, and while I really like it, I took that shot in the middle of the day, so the light was pretty harsh and the background was just ok.  I like this one a lot better, because the background, even though it is out of focus, gives you a wider variety of colors.  I even snuck a sunflare in there, which I didn’t think that I would be able to get at f4.

This is a seven exposure HDR that I laid on the road and blocked traffic to get and then processed in Photomatix.  I had to do a little masking on the upper left and right hand corners of the shot to get rid of minor haloing there.  I boosted overall saturation, as well as added a curves layer of green and yellow to enhance the trees and line on the road.  Finally I added a Tonal Contrast filter (Color Efex) and Turbo Boost filter (onOne PhotoTools) to complete the shot.

Thanks for stopping by guys and gals, see you tomorrow.

23 responses

  1. Nothing at all bad about ‘getting philosophical.’ Doing so helps us to get our bearings and live life with conscious awareness.

    ‘Nothing fades like the future, and nothing clings like the past.’ (Peter Gabriel)

    By our nature, we live either anticipating the future, or regretting things done in the past, completely missing the ‘now’ moment. Anything you can do to bring yourself into that moment — like writing this blog post — is quite worthwhile as a reminder to everyone who sees it.

    I thank you for that.

    May 26, 2011 at 6:42 am

    • Amen to that Rob. I love that quote, I may have to use that sometime. Thanks for stopping by man.

      May 26, 2011 at 7:30 am

  2. Great image and blog! Good stuff my man!

    May 26, 2011 at 6:47 am

  3. Nice post and love the perspective of the shot. Good work Dave!

    May 26, 2011 at 7:25 am

  4. Very cool perspective and DOF with a great post to match!

    May 26, 2011 at 8:58 am

  5. Nice topic, Dave. We do spend an awful lot of time looking past where we actually are in life’s journey.

    People love to travel, and I am surely in that bunch, but often there are tons of things to see and do in our own part of the world.

    Love today’s photo. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do but need to have a spotter with me to insure it’s not my last shot. LOL

    I think this came out great.

    May 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

    • Thanks Jimi. I love to travel as well (though don’t do nearly as much as I would like), but you are right there is probably so much to see around Pittsburgh that I haven’t even found yet! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm

  6. Sweet shot with a different perspective. Funny how this shot seems like you’re “keeping your nose to the road” per say. Fits perfectly with your other comments 🙂

    May 26, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Thanks Aaron! I literally was for this shot too!

      May 26, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  7. Dastodd

    This is a really super shot, Dave! Impressive focus and DoF. You must have been flat on the ground! 🙂

    May 26, 2011 at 10:23 am

    • I was Charles! Thanks for the comment!

      May 26, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  8. Nice shot and the whatever effect. I feel I am the little ant on the road ..

    It’s a long way to go! Great title!

    May 26, 2011 at 10:29 am

  9. Well said Dave! That is one of the great things about photography – it keeps us focused on what is in front of us right now! We spend so much time looking forward, even just to the weekend, that we forget to enjoy the little moments. Thanks for the reminder!

    May 26, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • My pleasure Jason! I am certainly guilty of it myself as well, and have to tell myself that every now and again! Thanks for stopping by!

      May 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  10. you are right on my friend, Carpe Diem! well shot too! Jim

    May 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  11. Great shot! How’d people take it when they saw you were blocking traffic? Great DoF!

    May 26, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    • Thanks Chris! I think they were more confused than anything else, haha I mean, here’s a kid laying in the middle of the road!

      May 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm

  12. Great shot! Love the title… just fits!

    May 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

